United States of America Divisions. The seven functional bureaus include 20 divisions: the Bureau of Economic and Scientific Affairs comprises the Aid and Development, Commercial Policy, Scientific Relations and Environmental Problems, and Transport, Communications and Energy Divisions; the Bureau of Legal Affairs includes the Legal Advisory and Legal Operations Divisions; the Bureau of Consular Affairs, the Consular Operations, and Consular Policy and Research Divisions; the Bureau of Defence and Arms Control Affairs, the Arms Control and Disarmament, and Defence Relations Divisions; the Bureau of Public Affairs, the Academic Relations Service, Cultural Affairs, Historical, Information and World Exhibitions Program Divisions; the Bureau of Coordination, the Commonwealth Institutions, Federal-Provincial Coordination and Francophone Institutions Divisions; and the Bureau of United Nations Affairs, the United Nations Economic and Social Affairs and United Nations Political and Institutional Affairs Divisions. The four administrative bureaus are responsible respectively for Personnel, Finance and Administration, Communications and General Services, and Security and Intelligence Liaison. In addition, there is an Inspection Service, a Policy Analysis Group, an Operations Centre, a Central Staff, an Interdepartmental Committee on External Relations, a Special Adviser on Foreign Service appointments and related policies, a Chief Air Negotiator, an Adviser on Bilingualism and a Special Adviser on Media Communications.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States. The Secretary of State for External Affairs reports to Parliament for the Canadian International Development Agency.

Department of Finance. Created by Act of Parliament in 1869, this Department now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10 as amended). It is primarily responsible for advising the government on the economic and financial affairs of Canada. The work of the Department is carried out in six branches. The Tax Policy and Federal-Provincial Relations Branch helps to form tax policy and maintain the tax structure. It deals with personal income and commodity taxes, taxes on corporations and Canada's international tax relations. Fiscal relations with the provinces are the responsibility of a Federal-Provincial Relations Division. The Branch also administers grants to municipalities in lieu of new taxes on government property and advises on the government's social development and manpower policies. The Economic Programs and Government Finance Branch is concerned with resource development, various government programs of broad economic development and the financing of Crown corporations and government agencies. The Tariffs, Trade and Aid Branch is concerned with trade policy and development, the Canadian aid program and customs' tariffs. The Economic Analysis, Fiscal Policy and International Finance Branch monitors the economy, analyzes the potential impact of various alternative courses for government fiscal policy and participates on Canada's behalf in a number of international organizations, including the International Monetary Fund. The Long Range Economic Planning Branch is responsible for co-ordinating, planning and developing medium- and long-term economic measures and policies. The Financial Operations Branch is responsible for monitoring developments in capital markets and advising on the government's debt operations. The Inspector General of Banks is an office of the Department. In addition, the following agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance: The Anti-dumping Tribunal, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Industrial Development Bank, the Department of Insurance and the Tariff Board. The Minister of Finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the Auditor General.

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was established in June 1966, superseding the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources; it now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.I-7. In 1968 the Department was reorganized, creating, in addition to departmental support services and an Engineering and Architectural Branch, three distinct program areas. The Indian and Eskimo Affairs Program includes education, community affairs, economic development for Indians and Eskimos and Indian trust administration. The Northern Affairs Program covers the management of all natural resources north of the 60th parallel except game, the protection of the northern environment, government activities in the field of economic development and support of the territorial governments in providing social and other local services, and Parks Canada, which includes National Parks and Historic Sites and Parks.

The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and the Commissioner of the Yukon Territory report to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Minister is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce. In 1969, the Departments of Industry and of Trade and Commerce were merged to form the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce (ITC), which operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.I-11. ITC promotes the establishment, growth and efficiency of manufacturing, processing and tourist industries in Canada and fosters the development of Canadian trade. The Department plans and carries out programs to assist manufacturing and processing industries in adapting to new technology and changing market conditions, in developing unrealized potential and in rationalizing productive facilities and corporate structures. It promotes product and process development, increased productivity, greater use of research, modern equipment, improved industrial design, the application of ad-